Operational Committee

The Operational Committee ensures a coherent management and coordination of emergency activities. It convenes at the Civil Protection Department, is chaired by the Head of the Department and is composed of representatives of components and operational structures of the civil protection system.

It aims to evaluate news, data and requests from the areas affected by the emergency, define intervention strategies and coordinate the interventions of all the administrations and bodies involved in the rescue in a unified framework.   Composition. It includes representatives of the Department of Civil Protection and Fire Fighters, Armed Forces, Police Forces, Italian Red Cross, National Health Service facilities, National Voluntary Organizations, National Mountain Rescue and Speleological Corps, Harbour Master's Offices, Ispra - Higher Institute of Environmental Protection and Research, Ingv - National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology, Cnr - National Research Council, Enea - Body for New Technologies, Energy and Environment, Unified Conference. Also participating are representatives of service companies and companies, e.g. Autostrade per l'Italia, Ferrovie dello Stato, Enel. Representatives of regional and local civil protection institutions affected by specific emergencies may also be convened.   Functioning. The Committee is in office for three years. It is summoned by the Head of Department or by a delegate and operates with the presence of at least half plus one of the members. In cases of urgency or emergency the Committee may also operate with the presence of representatives of the Department, Fire Brigade, Armed Forces, Police Force, Forestry Corps, Red Cross, Harbour Offices, National Health Service and Aeneas.   The Operating Committee was established by Article 10 of Law no. 225 of 1992 and is regulated by Article 14 of Legislative Decree no. 1 of 2 January 2018.