Update of the National Emergency Plan for Vesuvius



This dossier is dedicated to the update of the National Emergency Plan for the Vesuvius.

In 2014, after a long process of study and analysis, we came to the identification of the new red zone, i.e. the area for which the evacuation is the only preventive measure of the population. At the same time, twinnings were also redefined with the Regions and the Autonomous Provinces that will host the evacuated people. In 2015, the new yellow zone was approved, i.e. the area outside the red zone exposed to the significant fallout of volcanic ash and pyroclastic materials. The plan for the removal of the population of the red zone is currently being developed by the Campania Region, with the support of ACaMIR - Agenzia Campana Mobilità Infrastrutture e Reti.

For the time being, the Campania Region has identified, within the activities of the working table coordinated by the Department of Civil Protection and composed of all the bodies has defined the general strategy for the transfer of the population to the twinned Regions and Autonomous Province

The red and yellow zones have been identified by the Department of Civil Protection, based on the recommendations of the scientific community, and in collaboration with the Campania Region. The starting point for the update of these areas was the document prepared by the working group "Scenarios and alert states" of the National Commission, established in 2003 to provide for the update of the National Emergency Plan for the Vesuvius and Campi Flegrei areas.

The new red zone, unlike the one identified in the 2001 Plan, includes, in addition to an area exposed to the invasion of pyroclastic flows (red zone 1), also an area subject to high risk of collapse of the roofs of the buildings due to the accumulation of pyroclastic deposits (red zone 2). The redefinition of this area also includes the involvement of a number of municipalities that have been able to indicate, in agreement with the Region, which part of their territory will fall in the area to be evacuated out of prevention. Other municipalities were instead considered entirely on the basis of their administrative boundaries. The new red zone includes the territories of 25 municipalities in the provinces of Naples and Salerno, that is 7 municipalities more than the 18 provided for in the National Emergency Plan of 2001. The Directive of 14 February 2014 has identified the twinning between the towns of red zone and the Regions and Autonomous Provinces that will host the evacuated population. In addition, as required by the directive, March 31, 2015 were published in the Official Gazette of the operational guidelines on the basis of which components and operational structures of the National Service will have to update their emergency planning according to the red zone. These operational guidelines are contained in a decree of the Head of the Civil Protection Department and were developed in consultation with the Campania Region, and after consultation with the Joint Conference (joint headquarters of the State-Regions and of the State-city and local governments).

In the new yellow zone, made official with the Directive of the President of the Council of Ministers on the Official Gazette on January 19, 2016, fall instead 63 municipalities and three districts of the Municipality of Naples. The definition of this area is based on recent studies and simulations of the distribution on the ground of volcanic ash produced by sub-Plinian eruption, which is the reference scenario for upgrade planning, and takes into account the historical statistics of the wind altitude. In particular, the yellow zone includes the territories for which it is necessary to plan the intervention of national and regional level to manage a possible emergency; in their territory, in fact, it is likely, that a quantity of ashes fallen may be such as to cause the collapse of the roofs, and this constrains the municipalities that are part of it to adapt their emergency planning. The fallout of volcanic ash can produce, locally, other consequences (such as the clogging of sewers and the difficulty of movement of vehicles) that may also affect a very large area, outside the yellow zone. Even these municipalities will have to update their emergency planning. Operational guidelines for updating the emergency planning for the yellow zone are expected to be issued, as done previously for the red zone.

This dossier will be constantly modified to tell all the stages that led to the update of the National Emergency Plan. The first page retraces the path of the work of the National Commission since 2003; the second presents a synthesis of the reference event for the plan and alert levels; the third details the redefinition of the red zone; the fourth presents the new scheme of twinnings between Municipalities in the red zone and Regions and Autonomous Provinces and explains briefly the Plan for transferring people from the red zone; the fifth is dedicated to the new yellow zone.

Latest update: 31 August 2018

- Next Next