Earthquake in Emilia-Romagna and Lombardy

verifiche di agibilità in EmiliaOn 2 June,, woth an ordinance of the Head of the Civil Protection Department, the Di.coma.C- Command and Control Headquarters, is set up in Bologna, in order to coordinate rescue and assistance activities in the regions affected by the 20 and 29 May earthquakes.
Wit the establishment of the Di.Coma.C, the coordination of components and operating structures of the National Service of Civil Protection to support the Head of Department is transferred in the region mostly hit by the seismic events, also in view of the future takeover of the emergency. Structures of Emilia Romagna Region are an integral part of it.

Foreshocks in Emilia and Lombardy provinces, already hit by the magnitude 5,9 at 4.04 a.m. of 20 May, go on. In particular, on 29 May at 9 a.m., another earthquake of magnitude 5,.8 occurred in the province of Modena di magnitudo with epicentre among Medolla, Mirandola and Cavezzo. Various foreshocks affected also the provinces of Reggio Emilia and Mantova, among which a magnitude 5,3 one at 12.55 p.m.

Following these events, the Council of Ministers declared the state of emergency on 22 May for the Provinces of Modena, Ferrara, Bologna and Mantova, with a duration of 60 days. The Head of the Civil Protection Department manages the interventions. Afterwards, Emila-Romagna and Lombardy will take over, each for the territories of their competence.
On 30 May the state of emergency is extended to the Provinces of Reggio Emilia and Rovigo.

This section describes the activation of the National Service of Civil Protection from 20 May: the first interventions, assistance to the population, safety checks and monitoring activity coordinated by the Head of the Civil Protection Department. The page of deployed forces is updated periodically.